## **Seafood Safety and Quality PDG**

**Members Present:** Veny Gapud (Chairperson), Barbara Blakistone (Vice Chairperson), Maria Reyes, Troy Ayers, Kevin Edwards, Lee-Ann Jaykus, Peter Hibbard, Marlene Janes, Doug Marshall, Salina Parveen, Kathleen Rajkowski, Gary Richards, Robert Salter and Tori Stivers.

Board/Staff Members Present: Katie Swanson.

**New Members:** Faye Feldstein and Geoffrey Morell.

**Visitors/Guests:** Katie Gensel, Jeanne Garbarino, Kristen Matak, Jean François Mouscadet, David Plunkett, Guy Skinner and Brooke Whitney.

Meeting Called to Order: 1:00 p.m., Sunday, July 22, 2012.

**Recording Secretary of Minutes:** Barbara Blakistone.

**Old Business:** Review of Antitrust Guidelines and Approval of 2011 Minutes as written.

## **New Business:**

- Dr. Swanson discussed news from the Board: let David Tharp know if interested in joining committees, guidelines for Google Groups and the Strategic Plan.
- Dr. Blakistone noted that Seafood PDG has a Special Session on the sushi recall.
- Dr. Jaykus provided an overview of her \$5 million mega-project on norovirus and its mission of research, education and extension.
- 2013 possible symposia topics were discussed including moisture retention agents, antibiotic residues and other chronic and acute chemical residues in seafood. The latter topic was of particular interest in the context of dispelling consumer perceptions of seafood: science versus myth.

A potential webinar, open to all IAFP members, was discussed on sustainability and food safety.

## **Recommendations to the Executive Board:**

- 1. As expressed at the Chairpersons' Breakfast, Seafood PDG supports a recommendation to the Board to re-visit the policy fees for PDG webinars versus those open to all IAFP members. Seafood feels the current policy is an equivocation to the mission of IAFP.
- 2. Seafood PDG requests a continuation of two-hour meeting period for 2013 and thanks the Board and Staff for providing that time slot in 2012.

Next Meeting Date: July 28, 2013.

Meeting Adjourned: 2:55 p.m.

Chairperson: Veneranda Gapud.