Retail Food Safety and Quality PDG

Members Present: Ann Marie McNamara (Chair), Sharon Wood (Vice Chair), Thomas Bell, Melissa Calicchia, LeAnn Chuboff, Ken Davenport, Dean Davidson, Jeffrey Farber, Thomas Ford, Dale Grinstead, Peter Hibbard, Peter Kennedy, Stephen Kenney, Larry Kohl, Bobby Krishna, Yale Lary, Jr., John Marcy, Douglas Marshall, Eric Martin, Carlos Menes, Gina Nicholson, Brian Nummer, Muhammad Qamar, Kathleen Rajkowski, Todd Rossow, Thomas Schwarz, Peter Snyder, Anna Starobin, Gloria Swick-Brown, Stacey Willson, Christina Wilson, Ki Yoon and John Zimmerman.

New Members: Kristina Barlow, Gustavo Gonzalez-Gonzalez, Cathy Bureau, Lin Li, David Luedeke, Lloyd Hontz, Rajko Platisa, Dojin Ryu, Pheakdey Ith, Carla Napier, Peyman Fatemi, Steven Sklare, Charles Price, Miriam Eisenberg, Chuck Seaman, Asia Alraeesi, Yen-Con Hung, Haley Oliver, Faye Feldstein, Jan Gardner, Gary Acuff, Jean Weese and Nate Bauer.

Visitors/Guests: Lucia Anelich, Joe Stout, Tatiana Lorca, Shahriar Vojdani, Seve Hails, Ralph Neller, John Wadic, Paul Baxter, Ray Collins, Susan McKnight, Charles Otto, Donald Barrett and Larry Bell.

Meeting Called to Order: 10:16 a.m., Sunday, July 31, 2011.

Recording Secretary of Minutes: Sharon Wood.

Welcome: Introductions and circulations of rosters.

Reading of antitrust guidelines for association meetings by Chairperson Ann Marie McNamara.

Review of Agenda – Ann Marie McNamara.

Call for additional agenda items.

*Announcement – Sept 20th – 22nd IAFP sponsored ROP workshop - Las Vegas

Old Business:

2.

Adoption of 2010 PDG meeting minutes – motion, second, and all approved.

Recognition of three members who received awards – Pete Snyder, Veny Gapud and Fred Reimers – Congratulations!

Ann Marie McNamara pointed out last year's submissions for symposia and announced times.

- Encouraging Food Safety Behavior in Food Safety Operations
- Planes, Trains, Boats and Trucks

Ann Marie McNamara discussed the difficulty in getting our PDG ideas passed by the Program Committee. The group discussed strategies as well as plans to help educate the Program Committee on how our industry needs to revisit "old issues" as well as practical tools to address them.

This year, there are three proposed symposia that came from a PDG conference call:

- 1. New Approaches to Old Issues Sharon Wood to lead.
 - Possible partnership with Food Hygiene and Sanitation PDG.
 - Dale Grinstead Disaster Preparedness Dale Grinstead to lead.
 - IAFP document on this subject needs updating.
 - CFP has document available.
 - (EDEN was also discussed as a resource Extension Disaster Education Network.
 - Tools and scenario approach.

- 3. Talking the Language of the Business Michael Roberson to lead.
 - scientific vs. business language business speak.
 - 6 sigma using this approach to HACCP.
 - · Links to shrink.
 - Elevator speech how do you tell your story?

New Business:

Election of Vice Chair:

- Duties described by Ann Marie with tenure and timelines.
- Gina Nicholson Kroger Company elected.

Ann Marie McNamara reviewed the Board requests for presentation of what the PDG will do next year:

- Webinars, conference calls, ideas.
- The group committed to attempt 2 webinars this year as well as increased conference call activity.
- Electronic Temperature monitoring might be a potential topic many options and a need at retail.

A member encouraged the PDG as a whole to join the local affiliate.

Recommendations to the Executive Board:

- 1. Suggestion that the Vice Chair positions would also hold a position on the Program Committee in order to provide key insights into each PDG, dynamics around the industry sectors each PDG represents and a more educational approach to making final decisions on the IAFP program.
- 2. Combining the Retail Food Safety & Quality PDG and the Food Hygiene and Sanitation PDG. Is this a good idea? Would this provide a better cross functional team to approach similar topics? One concern is to be sure that the information applies to all parts of the industry, from Farm to Fork.

Meeting Adjourned: 12:01 p.m.

Chairperson: Ann Marie McNamara.