# Water Quality and Safety PDG

Names of Attendees: Elisabetta Lambertini (Chair), Leon Gorris (Vice Chair), Achyut Adhikari, Jeremy Adler, Sultan Al Taher, Sarah Allard, Shavma Altenaiii, Uma Babu, Kannan Balan, Arlene Barrantes Romero, Alexandra Belias, Manreet Bhullar, Nancy Bontempo, William Burkhardt Iii, Kellie Burris, Suchart Chaven, Hongda Chen, Yi Chen, Antonio Cid, Donna Clements, Thomas De Bock, Diane Ducharme, Natalie Dyenson, Kristin Esch, Blanca Escudero, Angela Marie Ferelli, Gregory Fridman, Austin Gast, Vybhav Vipul Sudhir Gopisetty, Lisa Gorski, Emily Griep, Alice Hayford, Katy Holzer, Calloway Jamerson, Karen Jarvis, Peter Kennedy, Sung-Youn Kim, Alison Lacombe, Pongpan Laksanalamai, Yuqian Lou, Keri Lydon, Sherri Mcgarry, Susan Mcknight, Rianna Murray, Charles Muyania, Salina Parveen, Jitu Patel, Juan Ponce De Leon, Kinsey Porter, Phylls Posy, Claudette Quevedo, Christophe Quiring, Angelic Rael, Isaac Rukundo, Robert Sakata, Vicki-Lynne Scott, Arlette Shazer, Erika Stapp Kamotani, Diane Stewart, Don Stoeckel, Phillip Tocco, Tessa Tuytschaever, Brian Umberson, Peien Wang, Daniel Weller, Xi Wu, Season Xie, Veerachandra Yemmireddy, May Yeow, Lei Zhang, and Jie Zheng.

## Total Number of Attendees: 71.

Meeting Called to Order: 3:15 p.m. - 5:15 p.m., Sunday, July 20, 2019.

## Minutes Recording Secretary: Phyllis Posy.

### **Old Business:**

- 1. Review of Agenda Call for additional items. No additional items.
- 2. Discussion/Adoption of the 2018 PDG Meeting Minutes.

Minutes from 2018 meeting approved.

 Overview of IAFP 2019 program relevant to PDG. Showed list of main sessions relevant to the water PDG.

## New Business:

- 1. Welcome and introductions:
  - Welcome and introduction to PDG by Chairpersons.
  - Greetings/comments from our IAFP Board
    Member.
  - Brief self-introductions of all present.
- 2. Announce new officers.

New officers were introduced: Elisabetta Lambertini moved from Vice Chair to Chair; Leon Gorris was elected new Vice Chair; Phyllis Posy was invited to become Secretary. In addition, Peien Wang was designated as new student liaison. 3. Short Updates on food safety developments of PDG interest.

Attendees shared noteworthy news and research developments from the past year.

- 4. Development of IAFP 2020 symposia ideas.
  - Introduction to themes (formats: Symposia, Roundtables, Technical Sessions, workshops).
  - Attendees split in small groups to discuss and prepare submissions to the program committee for IAFP's 2020 meeting(s) (deadline is October 1, 2019).
  - Ideas discussed included: water reuse in meat and poultry; water treatment technology for water reuse; system assessment and monitoring programs for water along the food production continuum; water reuse in produce processing; updates on the development of international standards and guidelines on water quality and reuse standards; implications of new U.S. water regulations; water treatment technology choices and cost-benefits; interface of sustainability metrics and food safety for water quality. A point person was identified for each idea discussed. PDG officers will follow up in the next months to facilitate the development of symposia and co-sponsorship with other PDGs.
- 5. Other year-round PDG activities
  - Recap of past webinars, and explanation the webinar format. Ideas for potential 2019–2020 webinars include: updates on agricultural water quality standards and management; industry experiences and best practices for processing water reuse; modern water treatment technologies 101.
  - Possible new PDG activities, such as conference calls, online discussion forums (e.g., on Connect), field trips, white papers. Ideas and needs were solicited, and PDG officers will foster discussions and dissemination of initiatives throughout the year.

## **Recommendations to the Executive Board:**

- 3. Recommended to continue IAFP's Foundation support of webinars so as to not require sponsorship for webinars.
- 4. Approve Leon Gorris as Vice Chair.

Next Meeting Date: August 2–5 2020, Cleveland, Ohio.

Meeting Adjourned: 5:00 p.m.

Chairperson: Elisabetta Lambertini.