## Low Water Activity Foods

Attendees: Pablo Alvarez (Chair), Larry Steenson (Vice Chair), Gary Acuff, Jennifer Acuff, Seun Agbaje, Nurul Ahmad, Keith Amoroso, Nate Anderson, Renee Anderson, Saif Arabi, Bennett Armstrong, Shaheen Banabeela, Pierre-Olivier Beal, Avery Becker, Thomas Bell, Larry Beuchat, Richelle Beverly, Yige Bima, Elise Binder, Tom Black, Nancy Bontempo, Luc Bourbonniere, Marlita Burford, Daniel Burnett, Scott Burnett, Zachary Cartwright, Caio Carvalho, Margolite Cesar, Erdogan Ceylan, Anindya Chanda, Hongda Chen, Long Chen, Larry Cohen, Frederick Cook, Sally Crowley, Ellison Cunningham, Nathan Decker, Jérôme Defillon, Martin Duplessis, Lise Duran, Teri Ehlinger, Elsa Fakhoury, Peyman Fatemi, Yaohua Feng, Elise Forward, Zhujun Gao, Francisco Garces Vega, Heather Garcia, Kerri Gehring, Muchigi Githii, Rachel Goeriz, Carly Gomez, Sarah Gooding, Mikayla Goodman, Vybhav Vipul Sudhir Gopisetty, Elizabeth Grasso-Kelley, Trey Harness, Linda Harris, Gayan Hettiarachchi, Ian Hildebrandt, Ken Hill, John Holah, Dwayne Irvin, Rhoma Johnson, Alexander Josowitz, Kent Juliot, Jiin Jung, Susanne Keller, Amit Kheradia, Karim-

Franck Khinouche, Donghyun Kim, Jeffrey Kornacki, Shira Kramer, Sakshi Lamba, John Larkin, Joe Legrand, Girvin Liggans, Joanne Lim, Siman Liu, Xiyang Liu, Zhuosheng Liu, Lisa Lucore, Maria Ma, Anna Mackay, Bradley Marks, Karina Martino, Taylor Mason, Yvonne Masters, Christine Mcintosh, Molly Mills, Nathan Mirdamadi, Paul Mitchell, Gerardo Morantes, Carine Nkemngong, Jinhwa Park, Richard Park, Anita Peterson, Ruth Petran, Obie Pigeon, Richard Podolak, Mira Rakic Martinez, Bhargavi Rane, Aishwarya Rao, Cari Rasmussen, David Rasmussen, Sadhana Ravishankar, Frank Ridgley, Juliany Rivera Calo, Jena Roberts, Evan Rosen, John Russell, Sarah Sanderson, Sofia Santillana-Farakos, Aurora Saulo,

Michele Sayles, Dan Schaffer, Manoj Shah, Arlette Shazer, Ryan Simmons, Guy Skinner, Naveen Kumar Srinivasa Murthy, Charles Staff, Philip Steinbrunner, Steve Stephens, Rachel Streufert, Quincy Suehr, Rico Suhalim, Greg Sutherland, Juming Tang, Aparna Tatavarthy, Abdullatif Tay, Brad Taylor, Arleen Tibayan, Heidi Tremblay, Aaron Uesugi, Vijay Vankar, Akhila Vasan, Tushar Verma, Xinyao Wei, Chris Wells, Pamela Wilger, Edith Wilkin, Anett Winkler, Niradha Withana Gamage, Dory Worcman Barninka, Shuang Wu, Jia Yan, Ren Yang, Kris Young, Mohamed Youssef, Cheng Zhang, Guodong Zhang, and Chee Zheng.

Number of Attendees: 153.

Meeting Called to Order: Monday, July 1, 2019 at 2:00 p.m.

Minutes Recording Secretary: Soon Kiat Lau.

The agenda was presented and accepted.

## **Board Update:**

Board update was previously sent by mail to the Chair and Vice Chair:

1. The IAFP Executive Board welcomes you to Louisville and IAFP 2019. We hope you enjoy the conference. Let us know if you need assistance or you can stop at the IAFP registration desk.

2. Webinars no longer need sponsorship due to the IAFP Foundation supporting the expense. We encourage PDGs to make use of webinars for symposia that were not able to be on the Annual Meeting program. Membership is required to view the recorded webinars.

3. Please make use of IAFP Connect for your PDG or Committee communications. You may also pose questions for colleagues to answer, post documents to share and discuss submissions for next year's Annual Meeting.

4. Use your Committee or PDG Liaison to assist you with questions for the Board or items for the staff.

## Old Business:

2018 minutes were presented and accepted. Reviewed PDG submissions for the 2018 program and the ones that were accepted for this annual meeting. Reviewed Webinar organized by PDG LWAF members in 2018/19 – Dr. Bradley Marks' webinar had ~600 registrants!

## New Business:

Elections: since it's the second year of Pablo Alvarez as Chair candidates for Vice Chair were asked. Election process will be done before the end of the year.

IAFP Connect and your PDG Community platform was presented and PDG members were encourage to use it as communication method.

Students in attendance (18) were recognized, and each one introduced themselves and gave a brief overview of their research. A list of students and their research interests will be compiled by Soon Kiat Lau and distributed.

Ideas for symposium topics were solicited from the membership, and 4 broad topic areas were identified for a parallel ideation session, which consumed the remaining meeting time. These were:

- EMP Microbiome (Short symposium).
- Best Practices/Food Safety Plan (Roundtable).
- Validations and target reductions (Full/short symposium).
  - Work with Risk assessment/modeling PDG.
- Sanitation in LWAF environments.
  - Work with Sanitation PDG.

Four stations were set up and PDG members were encouraged to post their ideas at each. After the ideation session, volunteers presented the ideas from each area to the group, and groups were formed to further develop the symposia/roundtables.

Next Meeting Date: August 2–5, 2020, Cleveland, Ohio.

Meeting Adjourned at: 4:00 p.m.

Chairperson: Pablo Alvarez.