Food Safety Education PDG

Names of Attendees: Francie Buck (Chair), Wenqing Xu (Vice Chair), Achyut Adhikari, Jehaina Al Ali, Sultan Al Taher, Shayma Altenaiji, James Arbogast, Bennett

Armstrong, Adam Baker, Kara Baldus, Brita Ball, Manreet Bhullar, Erika Bognar, Adam Borger, Kenneth Boyer, Renee Boyer, Marisa Bunning, Kenedy Callaway, Anne Carr, Komita Carrington, Ben Chapman, Charita Chapman, Melissa Chase, Candice Christian, David Cook, Courtney Crist, Patricia Curtis, Tracey David, Minh Duong, Martin Duplessis, Carianne Endert-Klaasen, Kristin Esch, Ellen Evans, Sarah Evans, Savana Everhart, Shelley Feist, Yaohua Feng, Tracy Fink, Pina Fratamico, Julia Fritschel, Oscar Galagarza Angulo, Catherine Gensler, Mary Alice Gettings, Serena Giovinazzi, Ayanna Glaize, Sarah Gooding, Duane Grassmann, Dale Grinstead, Alexis Hamilton,

Alex Hanley, Shauna Henley, Ken Hill, Ali Hurysz, Kris Ingmundson, Calloway Jamerson, Megan Jensen, Lone Jespersen, Lynette Johnston, Chris Jordan, Alexander Josowitz, Megan Kenjora, Nicole Keresztes-James, Kathy Knutson, William Lachowsky, Thomas Larsen, Joanne Lim, Pushpinder Litt, Teressa Lopez, Stephanie Maggio, Eric Martin, Rachel McDowell, Deborah McIntyre, Lorraine McIntyre, Joanna Meyer, Eric Moore, Lillian Nabwiire, Laura Nelson, Sergio Nieto-Montenegro, George-John Nychas, Adewale Obadina, James O'Donnell, Adeniyi Odugbemi, Rose Omari, Mellonie O'Neill, Kathleen Ott, Janee Parker, Michael Peralta, Bridget Perry, Hannah Pilch, Jennifer Quinlan, Paula Rivadeneira, Edwin Roman Rivera, Blanca Ruiz, Britanny Saunier, Donna Schaffner, Lester Schonberger, Natalie Seymour, Nicola Sharman, Adrienne Shearer, Kantha Shelke, Ellen Shumaker, Steven Sims, Frost Steele, Clint Stevenson, Tori Stivers, Debbie Stroud, Lang Sun, Greg Sutherland, Drew Tadd, Brad Taylor, Todd Taylor, Akhila Vasan, Abigail Villalba, Carol Wallace, Myriam Watts, Austin Welch, Joyce Wert, Molly West, Mallory White, Kristin Woods, Zhinong Yan, Lily Yang, Shiyun Yao, Veerachandra Yemmireddy, Morgan Young, and Alex Zeman.

Number of Attendees: 126.

Meeting Called to Order: 3:17 p.m., Sunday, July 21,

2019.

Minutes Recording Secretary: Wenqing (Wennie) Xu and Adam Baker.

Old Business:

1. Adoption of the 2018 meeting minutes.

Minutes have been posted on IAFP Connect.

Motioned: Lone Jespersen.

Second: Joanna Meyer.

2. Review of FSE-PDG sponsored 2019 sessions:

List of 2019 symposia and roundtables related to food safety education was displayed. But we do not know which ones went through FSE-PDG. We encouraged members who are interested to submit symposium/ roundtable proposals for 2020 work with the Chair and Vice Chair to submit proposals.

- 3. Task Group Reports:
 - Wennie Xu gave updates on the "Before Disaster Strikes – pamphlet revision. The new title of the new pamphlet is "Before, During and After Disaster Strikes – A Resource Guidefor Food and Water Safety in the Home." The pamphlet was revised by Wennie Xu, Bill Lachowsky, and Sherri McGarry. It has been submitted to Didi but is not published yet.
 - Another pamphlet entitled "Food Safety at Temporary Events" needs revision.
 Courtney Crist, Lily Yang and Ellen Evans volunteered to work on the revision.

4. Mission Statement:

Brita Ball gave updates on the proposed mission statement and the member votes. Out of 66 responses, 65 voted yes to the proposed statement.

New Business:

- 1. Wenqing (Wennie) Xu was elected as Vice Chair for the PDG.
- 2. IAFP 2020 symposium/roundtable proposals due Oct
 - 1. Members are encouraged to work with the Chair, Vice Chair, Courtney Crist, and Sergio Nieto-Montenegro.

Numbered List of Recommendations to the Executive Board:

- 1. Recommendation for approval of Wenqing (Wennie) Xu as the Vice Chair.
- 2. Recommend the Board to adopt the new mission statement for Food Safety Education PDG as follows:

"To provide a forum for IAFP Members and interested others to learn, network, and share information and resources about education, training and outreach for various audiences thereby advancing food safety knowledge, promoting behavior change and improving practices that mitigate food safety risks around the world."

Next Meeting Date: August 2–5, 2020, Cleveland, Ohio.

Meeting Adjourned: 5:15 p.m. **Chairperson**: Francie Buck.