## **Retail and Foodservice PDG**

Attendees: Michael Ames, Abdur Amin, Jeff Anderson, David Baker, Rick Barney, Hannah Bolinger, Betsy Booren, Chris Boyles, Alex Brandt, Pardeepinder Brar, Cheryl Brown, Veronica Bryant, Frances Buck, Janet Buffer, John Burnett, Allen Byrd, Benjamin Chapman, Teen Teen Chin, Peter Cook, Meghan Cox, Carl Custer, Holly Dance, Dorothy Dupree, Sarah Durham, Jeff Edelen, Ashley Eisenbeiser, Laurie Farmer, Thomas Ford, Robin Forgey, Ireneusz Gasienica, Kerri Gehring, Anne Gerardi, Bret Glembocki, Viswanathan Gopalkrishnan, Julian Graham, Leena Griffith, Dale Grinstead, Anyi Gutierrez, Steve Hails, Susan Hammons, Margaret Hardin, Yingshu He, Cory Hedman, Peter Hibbard, Jane Holicka, Jill Hollingsworth, Jason Horn, Alison Hurysz, Matt Igo, Lee-Ann Jaykus, Marjorie Jones, Chris Jordan, Kalmia Kniel, Bob Kramer, Gina Kramer (Nicholson), William Lachowsky, Glenda Lewis, Xingchu Li, Julia Logsdail, David Luedeke, Jing Ma, Chip Manuel, Patricia Marden, Matthew Markiewicz, Eric Martin, Fabiana Martins, Ann Marie McNamara, Barry Mikeska Jr, Guillaume Moncenis, Eric Moore, Matthew Moore, Jack Neal, Giselle Nunes, James O'Donnell, Haley Oliver, James O'Neal, Alli Pearson, Ruth Petran, Sarah Potter, Sarita Raengpradub, David Reyda, Michael Roberson, Todd Rossow, Christopher Rupert, Aurora Saulo, Holger Schoenenbruecher, Dina Scott, Chuck Seaman, Natalie Seymour, Rafael Solis, Laura Strawn, Celia Suarez Pantaleon, Christine Summers, Todd Taylor, Hilary Thesmar, Angela Valadez, Daniel Vassar, Abigail Villalba, Robert Wagner, Benjamin Waring, William Weichelt, Han Wen, Tim Westbrook, Zhinong Yan, and Giddy Zipori. Number of Attendees: 105.

Meeting Called to Order: 1:00 p.m., Sunday, July 9, 2017.

Minutes Recording Secretary: Francie Buck.

## Old Business:

- Submitted 2 symposia
- Overall 65% acceptance rate
- Perishable foods delivered to homes 10:30 a.m. noon Monday
- Artisanal food 10:30 a.m. noon Tuesday
- 3rd proposal not submitted can resubmit for next year
- Communication is paramount for submission

## New Business:

Introduced panel speakers: Topic – Big Data Management Tom Ford – Ecolab Ben Chapman – N.C. State Cory Hedman – Meijer Tom Ford will become Chair at IAFP 2018; Francie Buck will remain as Secretary.

Nominations were accepted for potential Vice Chair (for term beginning at IAFP 2018) will be voted on through Survey Monkey in Sept. or Oct.

Gave a description of expectations and duties for Vice Chair:

- Help develop symposia/roundtable proposals for 2018
  webinar development
- Nominations:
- Megan Cox Deloitte, self-nominated for VC
- Janet Buffer Amazon, nominated by Gina
- Eric Moore Testo solutions
- Haley Oliver Purdue

Proposal submission deadline is Oct. 3.

- Big Data
- ATP testing led by EL last year, Haley Oliver is a potential speaker
- Haley Oliver economic trends in retail (online, food delivery, Blue Apron, Uber Eats) how are the demographics affected? CFP Committee has a committee on this – we can get speakers from them
- Megan Cox Sensing and responding to unforeseen risk – symposia on technology IoT, applications on IoT – Megan will work on co-sponsoring with Food Defense PDG
- GFSI retail and food service schemes Hillary Thesmer submitted 2 years ago – work with Anne Gerardi from GFSI

Black Pearl Award

**Executive Board Recommendations** 

Ann Marie – PDG member introduction

FSIS symposia - Hilary

Sessions 5 and 46

Megan Cox symposium – Crisis management roundtable 330-5

IAFP secretary introduction – how can we involve students more?

Recommendations to the Executive Board: None.

Next Meeting Date: July 8, 2018, Salt Lake City, UT.

Meeting Adjourned: 3:00 p.m.

Chairperson: Jay Neal.