## **Low Water Activity Foods**

Members Present: Edith Wilkin, Pardeepinder Brar, Ian Hildebrandt, Shirin Abd, Alejandro Amezquita, Tamrat Belete, Brent Brehmer, Sarah Cahill, Frederick Cook, Polly Courtney, Michelle Danyluk, Teri Ehlinger, Michele Evans, Carrie Ferstl, Judy Fraser-Heaps, Dana Gradl, Keith Ito, Sanghyup Jeong, Rhoma Johnson, Susanne Keller, Karim Khinouche, Daria Kleinmeier, Pichamon Limcharoenchat, Lisa Lucia, Lisa Lucore, Edyta Margas, Rachel McEgan, Belem Ontiberos, Shannon Pickens, Sofia Santillana Farakos, Jean Schoeni, Jeyamkondan Subbiah, Christopher Theofel, Erdal Tuncan, Aaron Uesugi and Guodong Zhang.

Board/Staff Members Present: Linda Harris.

New Members Present: Laurie Post, Quanhong Li, Christoper Conway, Marion Castle, Ronen Neutra, Gillian Dagan, Ingrid Huntley, Lauren Jackson, Martin Duplessis, Evan Rosen, Vanessa Ip, Trevor Phister, Ted Labuza, Sara Gragg, Florence Wu, Nadia Narine, Molly Mills, Richard Brouillette, Sarita Raengpradub, Rico Suhalim, Jesse Miller, Quincy Suehr, Joanna Carroll, Brandt Crockett, Francisco Garces Vega, Mark Moorman, Abani Pradhan, May Yeow, Hudaa Neetoo, Li Maria Ma, Beatrice Conde-Petit, Shuxiang Liu, Derek Richey, Jaza Alshammari, Ravikiran Tadapaneni, Jie Xu and Manoj Shah.

**Visitors/Guests Present**: Khalid Abdelrahim, Tim Adams, Larry Beuchat, Nancy Bontempo, Dave Horowitz, Don Jones, Alison Kretser, Xin Li, Greg Siragusa, Philip Steinbrunner, Kidon Sung and Becky Thompson.

Meeting Called to Order: 2:05 p.m., July 25, 2015.

Minutes Recording Secretary: Edith Wilkin, Vice Chair.

**Old Business**: Reviewed 2015 symposia and presentations and 2014 Board response to recommendations.

## **New Business:**

- ILSI North America Technical Committee on Food Microbiology: 2015 RFP on Pathogens in Low Water Activity Foods" Alison Kretser–ILSI North America and Nancy Bontempo–Mondelez. Committee members got a chance to ask questions about research format and funding. Requested to follow up directly with ILSI NA.
- "Role of culture independent testing for troubleshooting in low a<sub>w</sub> food environments or foods" – Greg Siragusa, DuPont.
- Edith Wilkin reported from Program Committee the need to have symposia and presentation proposals be concise and to the point in order to be accepted.
- Students and new members were welcomed. Student involvement solicited.
- Reviewed hot topics that are being reviewed for 2016 program and annual meeting. Listing will be sent to membership with meeting notes. Development team includes: Michele Evans, Sofia Santillana Farakos, Lisa Lucore, Laurie Post, Beatrice Conde-Petit, Sanghyup Jeong and Hudaa Neetoo.

## **Recommendations to the Executive Board:**

1. Pardeepinder Brar stepped down as Student Liaison because she has graduated. Requesting board approval for Manoj K. Shah, North Dakota State University, as Student Liaison.

Next Meeting Date: July 31, 2016.

Meeting Adjourned: 3:55 p.m.

Chairperson: Edith Wilkin (Vice Chair standing in for Elizabeth Grasso).